Theiling Online    Sitemap    Conlang Mailing List HQ   

Senyecan Time & Calendar

From:caeruleancentaur <caeruleancentaur@...>
Date:Friday, November 5, 2004, 12:46
Senyecan history/mythology is divided into seven eons (aayani)
of 156,000 years each.  The 1st eon is that of the Self-existent &,
in reality, stretches back eternally.  At the end of that eon, s/he
created light & that is the 2nd eon.  At the end of the 2nd,
s/he created the cosmos & that is the 3rd eon.  At the end of the
3rd, s/he created the elements & that is the 4th eon.  At the
end of the 4th eon, s/he created the loquent beings & that is the
5th eon.  The 5th eon is divided into 6 eras (meyhdiitani) of
26,000 years each.  At the beginning of each era, s/he created one of
the loquent beings: Children of Air, of Fire, of Water, of Earth, of
Wood, of Stone.  After the era of the Children of Stone, there was
the 6th eon of harmony among all the loquent beings.  Then came the
Great Sundering, during which many fell out of harmony.  After
allegiances were re-aligned, the 7th eon began, in which we live

Both the solar & the lunar cycles are used in the Senyecan calendar.
The solar year begins at the winter solstice (yhoomsuulsaatan).
Eight celebrations are held in conjunction with the solar year.  The
primary celebations are the winter solstice, the vernal equinox
(mhesn^medhsentan), the summer solstice (leetsuulsaatan), and the
autumnal equinox (osn^medhsentan).  The secondary celebrations are
the cross-quarter days of midwinter (medhyhooman [Imbolc]), midspring
(medhmhesnan [Beltane]), midsummer (medhleetan [Lughnasadh]), and
midautumn (medhosnan [Samhain]).

The lunar cycle contains 13 months.  The first month begins at
sunrise on the day after the full moon after the winter solstice.
The other months begin at sunrise on the day after the successive
full moons.  These months are known as winter moon (yhoomluxnan),
late winter moon (ghasyhoomluxnan), early spring moon
(aayermhesn'luxnan), spring moon (mhesn'luxnan), late spring moon
(ghasmhesn'luxnan), early summer moon (aayerleethluxnan), summer moon
(leethluxnan), late summer moon (ghasleethuxnan), early autumn moon
(aayerosn'luxnan), autumn moon (osn'luxnan), late autumn moon
(ghasosn'luxnan), and early winter moon (aayeryhoomluxnan).

Each of the phases of the moon begins a new "week," known as a
luxn'mervan (moon phase), or mervan for short.  Thus, the mervan can
vary in length from six to nine days.  The "week" begins and
celebrations are held on the day after each phase is at its fullest.
The first six days of each phase are named aftr the avatar
reverenced by each of the six loquent beings in the order of their
creation: luxn'djeyan (Moon day - Children of Air);
aaterdjeyan (Aaterun's day - Children of Fire); neerdjeyan (Neer's
day - Children of Water); seegj'djeyan (Seegyun's day - Children
of Earth); percw'djeyan (Percwun's day - Children of Wood); and
puusdjeyan (Puusun's day - Children of Stone).  Additional days in
the phase bear the names aljoidjeyan, one extra day; alj'dwiidjeyan,
two extra day; and alj'tirdjeyan, three extra day.  The names of the
six days are used for the seven days of the contemporary week, being
preceded by suuldjeyan, Sun's day, a day dedicated to the Self-
existent as s/he is in him/herself, not as an avatar.  Neerun and
Seegyun are female, the rest are male.

P.S. The names of the six avatars are also used for the six visible
moving heavenly bodies, treated as animate beings.  luxnen = moon;
aateren = Mercury; neeren = Venus; seegjen = Mars; percwen = Jupiter;
puusen = Saturn.