Theiling Online    Sitemap    Conlang Mailing List HQ   

Conlang Typology Survey

From:Garrett Jones <conlang@...>
Date:Tuesday, May 20, 2003, 15:43
I'm curious about the distribution of the types of conlangs on this list.
So, a survey. Maybe it will generate some on-topic discussions. Answer it
for your respective conlangs:

multiple choices can be selected for any of these questions if that makes
sense for your conlang.

1. morphological type
a. agglutinative
b. fusional/inflecting
c. polysynthetic
d. isolating

2. Word order
a. SOV
b. SVO
c. VSO
d. VOS
e. OVS
f. OSV
g. free

3. adposition/noun order
a. noun - preposition
b. preposition - noun

4. adjective/noun order
a. adj - noun
b. noun - adj

5. genitive/noun order
a. genitive - noun
b. noun - genitive

6. relative clause/noun order
a. rel. clause - noun
b. noun - rel. clause

7. main verb/aux verb order
a. main verb - aux verb
b. aux verb - main verb

8. adverb/verb order
a. adv - verb
b. verb - adv

9. compounding type
a. head-last compounding
b. head-first compounding

10. case type
a. nominative/accusative
b. ergative/absolutive
c. split ergative
d. other

11. tense system
a. time (past/present/future)
b. aspect
c. realis/irrealis

12. script
a. latin
b. other existing natlang script
c. con-script

and some free answer questions:

13. number of genders/noun classes
14. number of cases
15. number of phonemes
16. lexicon size

that's all the ones i could come up with quickly. so, how do your conlangs
Garrett Jones


Mark J. Reed <markjreed@...>
H. S. Teoh <hsteoh@...>
Rik <rik@...>
John Cowan <jcowan@...>
michael poxon <m.poxon@...>
Carlos Thompson <chlewey@...>
Matt Trinsic <trinsic@...>
Henrik Theiling <theiling@...>
Herman Miller <hmiller@...>
Sally Caves <scaves@...>
James Worlton <jamesworlton@...>
Nik Taylor <yonjuuni@...>
Garrett Jones <conlang@...>
Andreas Johansson <andjo@...>
Peter Bleackley <peter.bleackley@...>
taliesin the storyteller <taliesin@...>
Tristan McLeay <kesuari@...>
Jan van Steenbergen <ijzeren_jan@...>
Dirk Elzinga <dirk_elzinga@...>
Dennis Paul Himes <himes@...>
Sylvia Sotomayor <kelen@...>
Christophe Grandsire <christophe.grandsire@...>
M. Astrand <ysimiss@...>
Joseph Fatula <fatula3@...>
BP Jonsson <bpj@...>
Camilla Drefvenborg <elmindreda@...>
Garrett Jones <conlang@...>Conlang Typology Survey (last call)
Cian Ross <cian@...>