Theiling Online    Sitemap    Conlang Mailing List HQ   

OT: UK Counties (was OT: baloney and cheese)

From:Dan Jones <devobratus@...>
Date:Thursday, March 20, 2003, 1:50
John Cowan wrote:
>As for East Anglia, >it's not a traditional county or an administrative unit, though it is a >diocese;
FWIW, Norfolk and Suffolk have seperate dioceses.
>I take it to be more or less equivalent to geographical Norfolk, >Suffolk, and parts of Essex and Cambridgeshire. > >Here's the total list of 39: > >Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, >Cornwall, Cumberland, Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset, Durham, Essex, >Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, >Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, >Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, >Rutland, Shropshire, Somerset, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Sussex, >Warwickshire, Westmorland, Wiltshire, Worcestershire, Yorkshire. >(The ridings [historically "thridings", 1/3-parts] of Yorkshire are also >very old, but not technically geographical counties.)
You missed out the West Midlands. And "Durham" is generally called "County Durham", to distinguish it from the town. The Welsh 22: Abertawe, Bro Morgannwg, Caerdydd, Caerfilli, Casnewydd, Castell Nedd Port Talbot, Ceredigion, Conwy (where I live), Gwynedd, Merthyr Tudful, Pen-y-Bont ar Ogwr, Powys, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Sir Benfro, Sir Ddinbych, Sir Fynwy, Sir Gaerfyrddin, Sir y Fflint, Wrecsam, Ynys Môn Dan -------------------------------- Pa vezer o vageal e bae Douarnenez e klever a-wechoù un trouz iskis: Kleier kêr Is a zo a seniñ dinandan ar mor.


John Cowan <cowan@...>
Peter Bleackley <peter.bleackley@...>